2020 Fighter Path Annual Awards: Knockout of the Year


Winner: Kevin Holland (UFC)

2020 will be remembered like a year no other. Fighters had either tremendous years or years to forget. Kevin Holland is one of those who will likely be hoping 2020 repeats itself in the new year. When Jacare Souza got him to the mat early, many expected the fourth-degree black belt to have his way with Holland. That simply wasn’t the case.

With his back pressed against the mat he landed some hard punches from the back that left the Brazilian rocked. He then stood up and landed bombs on the former Strikeforce Middleweight Champion leaving him unconscious on the mat. Buckley had a tremendous knockout over Kasanganay, Kattar landed the most vicious elbow in recent memory over Jeremy Stephens and Mamed Khalidov landed a beautiful flying switch kick over Scott Askham. All of those are great candidates as well, however due to Jacare’s resume on the mat the Holland knockout was the determined the winner.


Joaquin Buckley (UFC)

Calvin Kattar (UFC)

Mamed Khalidov (KSW)

Sergio Pineiro

Sergio Pineiro is the Founder of FighterPath.com and host of the Quarantinecast podcast. Based in Canada he is both a sports journalist and MMA enthusiast. He practices the sport but has a passion for the individual stories of training, fighting and living the fighting lifestyle.

One Comment

Leave a Reply