2020 Fighter Path Annual Awards: Non-Title Fight of the Year


Non-Title Fight of The Year: Josh Emmett vs Shane Burgos (UFC)

This award could have gone one of two ways, Emmett-Burgos or Poirier-Hooker. Emmett-Burgos was only three rounds but had a significant amount of action. Hooker and Poirier had a little more technique over the full five minutes. Between the two fighters, 85 strikes were landed per round which is a staggering 17 strikes per minute. In the Hooker fight, the average was 12 per minute.

What made the fight more compelling is how narrow the margin between the two was in terms of strikes. Burgos landed only one more significant fight than Emmett across the full fifteen minutes (128 to 127). Emmett would go on to win the was back in June and is still recovering from the injuries six months later.


Dustin Poirier vs Dan Hooker (UFC)

Jack Hermansson vs Marvin Vettori (UFC)

Kris Moutinho vs Ashiek Ajim (CES MMA)

Sergio Pineiro

Sergio Pineiro is the Founder of FighterPath.com and host of the Quarantinecast podcast. Based in Canada he is both a sports journalist and MMA enthusiast. He practices the sport but has a passion for the individual stories of training, fighting and living the fighting lifestyle.

Leave a Reply